An extra flash 55: the notebook

[an excerpt from a short story I began today]

His eyes were the bluest blue, radiated by the water in them, either from age or sadness. Looking deeper, I saw what it must be like to be a father and a husband to these two women, carrying the enormous weight of death on his shoulders.

Yet in his eyes, I saw something like joy.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dayner
    Feb 23, 2010 @ 01:14:59

    Wow, I can’t wait to read the rest. Soon, I hope.

    I must tell you, when I looked into his eyes I saw an older George W Bush. Do you see the resemblance?

    Reply

  2. Natasha
    Feb 22, 2010 @ 20:30:26

    Oh, good start. Who is he? Who are the women? What’s with the enormous weight of death? And why the joy?

    I’ll be interested to read more…

    Reply

  3. darksculptures
    Feb 22, 2010 @ 15:01:36

    You grabbed me with this one. I can’t wait to see the short story. Nice hook! Is this something you are going to share with us? I sure hope so.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Feb 23, 2010 @ 08:59:33

      I am hoping to keep working on it, but it’s an emotional story for me. I’m not even sure this is the hook, I think it’s in the middle or end of the story….not sure….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
