Scrapbooking

Here’s another writing prompt from the book, Take Ten for Writers, called Scrapbooking.

Fill these out…they are your “scraps.” 

  • a description of the last person you saw
  • the number of words you wrote today
  • a smell you like
  • a song that often repeats in your head
  • a sport you dislike
  • a favorite teacher’s name
  • Then write for ten minutes, using the following:

    1 scrap as title
    1 scrap as first word or phrase
    3 scraps as parts of the body
    1 scrap as last word or thought

     

    The Olympics March

    The young woman serving my coffee looked so much older than her years: her face was drawn, her eyes sad. Not the sadness of an argument with a boyfriend or of being scheduled to work on the weekend. It was the deep down sadness of years. Not enough years for this young girl, I thought, but there it was, etched into her eyes like granite.

    278, I thought, as I picked up a cinnamon and vanilla scented candle on the counter and smelled it mindlessly. $2.78 was what the girl behind the counter had charged for my tall Americano. It was supposed to be $2.09 or something like that, but when I turned to tell her, she had slipped into the back room.

    I took the drink she had left for me on the ledge and scanned the room for a place to read my manuscript. Sitting in the only upholstered chair was an enormous, well-dressed man, talking into his headset loudly. His words blended together when he talked, like supercalifragilisticexpialidocious.

    “Have you been watching the Olympics? OMG, ski jumping is, like, soooo boring. But the men in those tight figure skating pants? Yummy!”

    I turned to locate a quieter corner of the shop and spotted a man in a booth who I immediately noticed as my junior high science teacher.

    “Mr. Figelwicz?”

    17 Comments (+add yours?)

    1. Parrot Writes
      Feb 21, 2010 @ 11:06:50

      How about if those who now have the book take turns posting an exercise each week? I’d volunteer for this next week if you are game.

      Reply

    2. Parrot Writes
      Feb 20, 2010 @ 18:24:01

      Me too!

      Reply

    3. dayner
      Feb 20, 2010 @ 16:55:43

      I went out today and bought this book. I can’t wait to crack it open and start having fun.

      Reply

    4. Natasha
      Feb 18, 2010 @ 21:14:57

      Looks like a fun exercise! I need something to bump me out of my writing funk and this might be it. Thanks!

      This was fun to read.

      Reply

    5. Parrot Writes
      Feb 18, 2010 @ 19:23:59

      OK I tried it! Its posted on my site. Its called “These are my people” (fav song by Rodney Atkins). Fun! Thank you Kathan!

      Reply

    6. dayner
      Feb 18, 2010 @ 19:08:41

      This is so funny. I just wrote in essay on coffee houses the the things that happen in them.
      When are you posting the rest of this?
      I love the character descriptions you put in this, very good, Kathan!

      Reply

      • kathanink
        Feb 18, 2010 @ 19:11:52

        Thanks – I don’t know if I’m going to finish it! I did the exercise, so I didn’t have plans to do anything else…boy I think I leave a lot of things unfinished… hmmmmmm

        Reply

        • dayner
          Feb 19, 2010 @ 14:17:54

          Don’t consider it unfinished, consider it an idea for a later project. 🙂 Stick it in a drawer for later. Just like the John and Martha exercise.

          Reply

    7. darksculptures
      Feb 18, 2010 @ 14:31:24

      I’ve been thinking about picking up a copy of this book myself. I find I go back to a lot of the exercises from Ann’s class. Writing prompts from Writer’s Digest and a few other sites come in handy too.

      Reply

    8. Parrot Writes
      Feb 18, 2010 @ 12:23:38

      That books looks great- I think I may have to try this one myself! Good story !

      Reply

      • kathanink
        Feb 18, 2010 @ 13:21:49

        Thanks! It was more silly than anything, but it does have fun exercises. I tend to be a more “down and emotional” writer, so it does me good sometimes just to do something silly or humorous. 😀

        Reply

    Leave a Reply

        Archives

    post categories

    HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
    © Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
