Quote of the day

This quote has had me thinking for a few days. So few words, and yet so profound:

Go to where the silence is and say something.   

– Amy Goodman

Roll it around in your brain for a bit and let me know what your thoughts…

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Response posted « Darksculptures Thinks and Writes
  2. dayner
    Feb 08, 2010 @ 16:30:18

    I think maybe you and I are on the same page today… 🙂
    Saying something has to be better than saying nothing at all…on second thought…hum. Let me think on this some more.

    Reply

  3. darksculptures
    Feb 08, 2010 @ 15:15:45

    The more I think of this quote, and specifically in the context of what Natasha posted, the deeper my mind goes.

    I think I’ll let this roll around a bit as you have suggested, since the images it has conjured have not yet come to a gel. I will return to summarize my thoughts and prehaps you’ll see the result of this soul searching appear as a future post.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Feb 08, 2010 @ 16:19:30

      I’ll be looking forward to what you have to say, as always. 🙂

      Reply

      • darksculptures
        Feb 09, 2010 @ 12:23:48

        Here is my response to yesterdays discussions:

        I have a second blog I do not use, designed to address issues that lie outside of writing. Although I suspect I’ll never use it, it is there should I wish to discuss important issues, like war, politics, financial systems, change, the environment, human rights, constitutional rights, science, religion, and economics. Anything outside of writing itself.

        If I thought it could be used for good I’d fire it up. But having watched the exchanges on other blogs with similar designs – I realized it would probably just end up being one giant shouting match with a lot of cursing from extremist on either side of the discussion.

        But if you ever want to get a group of people together, that can discuss these issues in a civil manner, I’d be happy to take the blog private and dish out passwords to all respectable parties.

        The problem I see with using the internet for in-depth analysis and discussion of such hot topics, is everyone’s innate ability to try to turn a discussion into quad erat demonstrandum. A discussion is the testing of theorem, not the written proof.
        My personal assessment is there is only one solution to the world’s problems and it is not of popular opinion, but to demonstrate why I keep these discussions under wrap I’ll post a small assessment of my thoughts, and where previous conversations always lead me. Here is the link:

        http://answerquest.wordpress.com

        Reply

  4. Natasha
    Feb 08, 2010 @ 10:50:49

    I admire Amy Goodman enormously, and I was wondering where, exactly, she had said this — although I imagine she has said it many, many times as that is how she lives her life.

    Anyway, I did find the quote in Buzzflash.com interview from January 2004.
    http://www.buzzflash.com/interviews/04/01/int04006.html

    She was talking, specifically, about the East Timor uprising and subsequent development of independence there. Although certainly it is possible to insert the name of many other countries — Haiti comes to mind — and the role of the U.S. — how it’s been in the past and how different it could be in the future.

    During the period of the 17 years leading up to 1991 there was almost no mention of East Timor in the mainstream media in this country. If the media shined a spotlight where it mattered when it came to issues of life and death, I don�t think that the occupation ever would have continued like it did in East Timor.

    And ultimately, a movement built in this country. People became deeply concerned about the U.S. selling weapons to a human rights-abusing military regime. And finally the people of East Timor, because of unbelievable persistence and bravery, won their freedom. We returned on May 20, 2002 to see this nation of survivors celebrate their independence.

    It let me know that when the media spotlight shines somewhere, it matters. When people in this country, the greatest superpower on earth, learn about what�s happening in another part of the world, it matters. Unfortunately, all too often, it is a country suffering because of a regime supported by the United States. But when people know, they do something about it. The key is that they must know about it. And that�s the role of the media — to go to where the silence is and say something.

    Reply

    • Natasha
      Feb 08, 2010 @ 10:52:49

      Whoops, the final three paragraphs of my long post (starting with ‘During the period…’ are a quote from Amy’s interview. Sorry I didn’t make that clear.

      Reply

      • kathanink
        Feb 08, 2010 @ 16:19:04

        Thanks for the info on when she said this! I am not terribly familiar with her, but I love the quote.

        Interestingly, while I obviously wasn’t thinking about my writing in relation to reporting on world events, I was thinking that there are things that I am familiar with that I don’t often hear people writing about too much (i.e. infertility, loss, etc). It’s not that no one ever writes about it, but I think that it’s a “silent place” that needs to be spoken about in an honest, but hopeful way.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
