‘Emma’ is a Masterpiece

This weekend and last I watched a delightful version of Emma (don’t you always have to use the word ‘delightful’ when referring to Jane Austen?), done by Masterpiece Classics for PBS. I loved it.

If you liked the Pride and Prejudice Masterpiece did several years back, you’ll enjoy this Emma. It’s far superior to the mediocre Emma with Gwyneth Paltrow in the 90’s and a little lighter than the PBS version with Kate Beckinsale. And if you like your Austen movies like I do – as close to the book as possible and at least four hours long – you’ll be very happy.

You can watch the full video on the PBS website! The quality is not as good as the DVD or on television, but it’s free.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natasha
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 09:13:18

    I’m loving it, too. Mr. Knightley has always been my second-fave Austen hunk (after Mr. Darcy, of course) but the age difference has always bothered me some.

    Jonny Lee Miller is delightful, of course, but he doesn’t seem like he’s 16 years older than Emma here.

    I’m channeling Johnny Depp instead. What do you think?

    (It’s really good regardless of who’s wearing Mr. Knightley’s riding pants…..)

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Feb 02, 2010 @ 14:03:53

      I know, it sort of bothers me that he’s so much older than her in the story. But I think it must have been different then, because many of her stories feature an older man. And honestly, for that reason, I prefer Miller as Knightley because I might be creeped out otherwise! LOL

      I enjoyed all the men in this movie…usually they make Elton like a totally gross character, but I liked him as more an arrogant, good looking brat. It makes him and “Mrs. E” perfect for one another!

      Reply

  2. darksculptures
    Feb 01, 2010 @ 20:01:18

    I kicked myself in the hind end. I watched last week and forgot to watch last night. Nor did I record it in any way. But then I remembered – ITS PBS – I can watch it online. Relief.

    I love PBS!

    Reply

  3. dayner
    Feb 01, 2010 @ 16:46:46

    I liked this much better than the Gwyneth Paltrow version also. I haven’t watched last nights yet, it’s sitting in the DVR waiting for a quiet couple of hours.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
