Loneliness

We read to know that we are not alone.

 

It’s been debated whether or not C.S. Lewis actually spoke these words, but they were uttered by Anthony Hopkins in the movie based on Lewis’ life, Shadowlands. And there’s something so profoundly true about the words, it makes me want to weep.

Without writers, there would be nothing to read. And without readers, there would be no reason to write.

I’d like to say that I write only so I can get my words on the page, to see how I really feel about something (for often that’s when the truth comes out of me, when I write it). Or because it’s so basic to who I am that I cannot help but write. These are true, but there’s more.

As a writer, I want to be read. And more than that, I want someone to read what I wrote and understand. I want them to understand me and I want them to feel like someone else understands. Inside that, there’s a connection, within the words and the pages, that makes us as writers feel a little less alone.

It’s for this reason I want to be a published writer. Since I don’t have children and will never have grandchildren to read the legacy of my writing, I deeply fear that everything I’ve ever written will only ever matter to me.

The reality of that is one of the loneliest feelings I’ve ever known.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dayner
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 16:59:55

    Ditto what DS said. I’ll always read your words.

    Reply

  2. uninvoked
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 15:42:58

    I have an audio-book that got published through sniplets. I almost fainted when I heard it the first time.

    Reply

  3. darksculptures
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 14:12:53

    You’ll never be alone as long as I am here to read your words :c)

    Reply

  4. uninvoked
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 13:13:51

    You think it’s amazing someone reads your writing? Wait till you hear someone you don’t know reading it aloud. It’s the most amazing feeling on earth.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
