Haiti: how do you take it in?

I heard about the earthquake in Port-au-Prince, Haiti yesterday, only minutes after it happened. I have a friend who lives in the Dominican Republic who posted on Facebook that she and her family had just experienced an earthquake, the same one as Haiti.

In our world of 24-hour news, it becomes difficult to be affected by anything that happens outside our own homes. We’re constantly barraged with news of murders, abductions and abuse. It’s sometimes hard to separate one piece of bad news from another.

But as I stood in my living room this morning, ready to go to a Bible study, I took a moment to watch the news and it moved me deeply. A young boy being yanked out of rubble, a girl howling with anguish over the death of her schoolmate, a woman covered in dust wandering the streets aimlessly. It cut to my heart.

Only minutes ago I read that the Haitian Prime Minister believes there could be over a hundred thousand dead. Over 100,000. I am sitting in my writing room, looking out the window, wondering what it would be like if suddenly, out of nowhere, my house came tumbling down. It’s really hard to imagine.

My friend in the DR helps to run an organization called Filter Pure, which brings clean water to those who need it. Check them out if you want to help.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natasha
    Jan 14, 2010 @ 09:35:40

    I posted something on Haiti and Partners in Health last night on my blog. Partners in Health is a wonderful organization that has been on the ground in Haiti for more than 20 years, establishing hospitals and clinics. It is definitely a worthwhile repository for donations as funds will be used efficiently since they already have the medical infrastructure in place.

    Reply

  2. dayner
    Jan 14, 2010 @ 00:02:00

    The news was hard to watch today but it reminded me that my horrid day at work wasn’t so bad after all.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Jan 14, 2010 @ 08:11:34

      Yeah, really. I feel the same way.

      A friend told me yesterday that she has friends who are in Port-au-Prince to adopt their daughter. The girl is fine, as well as her orphanage, but they haven’t been able to locate the couple. 😦 It could be the lines communication, and I am praying that is the case.

      Reply

  3. darksculptures
    Jan 13, 2010 @ 20:02:32

    Such horrible events happening all over the world. I try not to listen to the news anymore. In fact I generally have the television on only about 4 hours out of an entire week. “FRINGE” night and “FLASH-FORWARD” night. With the occasional late night viewing if the hubs has problems winding down from work.

    It is just heart-wrenching to see so much pain and suffering. Imagine the loss so many families will be feeling. Husbands who won’t be coming home and mothers who can’t reach their children below the rubble. And what about those who were alone to start with, who will mourn for them? Who even knows they are missing?

    I just can’t stand the thought of it.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Jan 14, 2010 @ 08:13:47

      I know what you mean. After 9/11 I became totally addicted to news. For like two years, it was on all the time. I finally broke free of it and only turn it on when I know there’s something big going on, and then only for a little bit. There is usually only something new added once or twice a day, and the rest is just talking.

      It’s all so very sad. Very sad, and I honestly can’t watch it any longer either.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
