Revising Your Novel Draft

I had this link buried in yesterday’s post, so I thought I’d repost it. It’s a good enough article to get me started, I think.

Finish Your Novel In 4 Simple Steps

Note: I think the use of the word “simple” in the title is sort of hilarious…

One thing I am noticing is that there’s an awful lot out there on how to WRITE a novel. But not a ton on how to REVISE the draft you’ve already written. Two totally different things, IMHO.

I need to know how to take the “*#&*$ first draft” that I already wrote (quoting Anne Lamott here, if you’ve read her book, Bird by Bird) and make it into something that is readable to others, and hopefully…one day…something that I will see sitting on the shelf at that cute little book shop in Woodstock, Illinois.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. spiel von roulette
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 21:39:55

    Great idea, but will this work over the long run?

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Jan 09, 2010 @ 18:02:20

      Do you mean what the article says? I am not sure, since this is my first novel revision.

      However, I did pick up a more comprehensive book called “Revision & Self Editing” by James Scott Bell (see post from Jan 6 called “The Courage to Revise”).

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

  2. darksculptures
    Jan 07, 2010 @ 11:11:35

    I’m headed to the bookstore next Tuesday with Christmas gift card and a list in hand. I’m sure I’ll run out of gift card before I run out of list. We’ll have to see what I come back with.

    Thanks for passing these links along. I don’t always have the time to read every site and every newsletter I receive. So when I miss something, or haven’t gotten to it yet, your summaries speed things up for me and help me select the material that is most pertinent to my current needs.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Jan 07, 2010 @ 13:05:31

      I had a 33% off one item coupon at B&N, so I drove out in the snowstorm to pick it up today! Flipping through it, it looks pretty good, and a whole lot cheaper than the $180 class I was looking at taking.

      Bottom line is, I am realizing why they say it take so long to revise. Because it does.

      Reply

  3. cherilaser
    Jan 07, 2010 @ 10:50:27

    You’re welcome. Let me know if you find the book useful. Some parts may be more relevant than others to what you’re trying to accomplish.

    Reply

  4. Natasha
    Jan 07, 2010 @ 10:21:20

    I’m definitely going to check out the Bell book. I’d love some feedback on the editing ‘plan’ I put on my blog today.

    Of course, I’m ‘planning’ rather than ‘doing’ so I should get to it.

    Reply

  5. cherilaser
    Jan 07, 2010 @ 08:29:06

    Hi again. Try Revision & Self-Editing–Techniques for Transforming Your First Draft into a Finished Novel, by James Scott Bell. This is a Writer’s Digest book, available through their website.

    Later …

    Cheri

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Jan 07, 2010 @ 08:36:45

      Thanks! I just posted that I ordered that book yesterday and will be using it. 🙂 I appreciate the info!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
