Googling Myself

I did it. I Googled myself.

And before you assume I was on a head trip to find out what people were saying about me, I was looking for an old article I wrote under the name Kathanknows.

What I found was very exciting…

I discovered that some people actually quoted me! I don’t think I’ve ever been quoted and you know what? It felt pretty darn cool. Since I’ve been writing articles as Kathanknows for several months, it seems others who have websites on certain topics have used a few of my articles to give further information on topics that relate to their site.

I just wanted to share a very tiny, but encouraging, success…

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dayner
    Jan 05, 2010 @ 15:55:02

    I Google myself all the time. I have a very unusual last name so I’m easy to find. Mostly I just come up in our on-line directory at work.
    When I interview people for hire I always google them, it’s interesting what I find out about a potential employee. 😉 I especially love when they have compromising pictures on their MySpace and don’t make it private. heh heh heh for some reason people feel the need to overshare on their MySpace pages–if only they knew how much it could hurt them.
    Good for you though, it’s awesome to be quoted in articles like that. If you look at your blog stats it will usually tell you if someone click your blog from a google search.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Jan 05, 2010 @ 16:08:50

      Yes, I look at my blog stats all the time. More recently I’ve been getting hits from Twitter. It looks like most of the people I’ve been getting either quoting or linking me have been from my articles on eHow. I’m an expert at something! 😀

      Reply

  2. Natasha
    Jan 05, 2010 @ 12:12:09

    Way to go, Kathan!

    Reply

  3. Burly
    Jan 05, 2010 @ 12:10:40

    That is encouraging and I do now intend to burst your bubble by reminding you that Napoleon Dynamite gets quoted all the time.

    Reply

  4. darksculptures
    Jan 05, 2010 @ 08:19:54

    Good for you – write on!

    Reply

  5. cherilaser
    Jan 05, 2010 @ 07:18:24

    Hi! And thanks for this uplifting note on the power and effectiveness of social media. I’m in the midst of an experiment designed to garner that power (see my Blog Launch Posting on November 4), and your posting was, indeed, encouraging.

    Wishing you all the best for continuing successes like the one you described.

    Cheri

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Jan 05, 2010 @ 14:13:49

      Cheri,
      Yes, I have found that writing across several different avenues has improved my exposure overall. Hope you find the same to be true!

      Thanks for visiting my blog!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
