A Revolution for Change?

It’s not a good start I know, to begin a brand new year with a bit of whining. But please indulge me while I share my biggest pet peeve, bar none, of all time. Ready? I am sure you will laugh at me when I tell you this, but it is so beyond irritating to me, I simply must share it.

What is that drives me so completely nuts? It’s when I am getting change back from a cashier, and he or she places the dollar bills into my open hand and then attempts to pile the coins on top of the bills. What inevitably ensues is the following (especially at a drive thru): as I try to draw my hand back into the car, all the coins slide off the bills and into my car, on my lap, or on the ground.

Annoyed woman getting change the WRONG way

Why, oh, why do they do this? Wouldn’t it be better if cashiers placed the coins in the hand first, then the bills, so the customer could handle both?

I know it’s a simple thing, but I implore you…if you’re cashier, please stop doing this to me! If you do, I may begin leaving you a tip for my coffee.

Consider this post my feeble attempt to inspire the cashiers of the world. I think I’ll call it a Revolution for Change.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. opoetoo
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 07:11:46

    Be thankful you are the one getting the change and not handing it out.
    Be thankful these are your problems.

    Reply

  2. dayner
    Jan 03, 2010 @ 11:23:50

    If they knew how to count change back the proper way then the coins would be in your hand first. Since they are doing it incorrectly I would make a point to count it yourself to make sure you’re not being ripped off.
    I have to share my Starbucks drive-thru pet peeve. I hate waiting in line in the drive-thru for coffee behind the jerk ordering a tall DECAF latte. If you’re wasting my time at 7am making me late for work then you could at least buy real caffeinated coffee.
    Anyway–I love the Revolution for Change.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Jan 04, 2010 @ 10:24:44

      I know! I am not THAT old, but I know how to count back change, and I know that’s why they do it…no one knows how to count back change anymore…they simply rely on the digital register to tell them what they owe me.

      My other pet peeve is when the barista lines up the seam of the cup with the drinking hole on the lid, so when I got to sip my drink, hot coffee dribbles down the front of my shirt. Love that.

      Reply

  3. darksculptures
    Jan 03, 2010 @ 09:48:19

    Yes! I’m so glad to see that I am no the only one that has this problem.

    Having small hands, there is not much room to balance a large pile of change to begin with. Then add the angle at which you must withdraw your arm, the slide factor of uneven sizes of change loosely piled and the slick surface of the bill.

    I have completely repaved, in copper and silver, every fast food drive through in my neighborhood. If only I could be lucky enough to have the change actually fall in my car.

    Very funny–and true–post.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Jan 04, 2010 @ 10:26:33

      I have withheld my silence for too long! Now that I have a blog, I guess it’s my right to be able to make my peeves known? LOL

      My new thing is that when they hand me the dollar bills, I QUICKLY pull my hand into the car, put them down and then reach my hand out to get the change. They always look annoyed, but at least I don’t drop all my money. 🙂

      Reply

  4. Natasha
    Jan 03, 2010 @ 09:25:27

    Love the Revolution for Change!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
