Flash Friday 55

Picking up the package that arrived in the mail that day, she ran her hands over the smooth brown paper before tearing it off in one swift motion, revealing a crisp hardcover. The new spine cracked as she opened the first page and saw her name. She drew in a breath and said the words aloud.

“I am an author.”

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darksculptures
    Jan 02, 2010 @ 11:57:26

    Oh Kathan — I so want this to be true for all of us. How exciting that would be to receive in the mail a book where any of us is the author. I am just as excited about my friends reaching the magical world of publication, than I am about myself getting there.

    Reply

  2. dayner
    Jan 02, 2010 @ 00:27:55

    I had to pick my chin up off the floor and rub away the goosebumps. This left me with a very warm and fuzzy feeling. Well done!

    Reply

  3. Natasha
    Jan 01, 2010 @ 10:42:59

    YES!! This gives me shivers.

    On a different note, in another comment you wrote on DS’s or Dayner’s blog that you didn’t think that time heals.

    IMO, time doesn’t necessarily heal, but it DOES help. The edges of pain soften over time so it is easier to hold. Just my two cents.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Jan 01, 2010 @ 15:37:41

      Thanks, may it be true for all of us soon (being authors)!

      I agree, pain is healed over the passage of time. But what I was saying is that I know many who just allowed time to pass and never dealt with the pain of their grief. Soon it’s two years later and they are only two years older, bitter and sad. So I think what you do during the time that passes does matter. That’s been my experience, anway…but, I think we’re saying the same thing. 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
