2009: A Retrospective

The Year Behind Me

I never believed I’d be able to sit here on December 31, 2009, and say that I’m thankful for this year. I didn’t believe it in January. Or June. Or even October.

But here it is, the end of 2009 and when I reflect on the year, I can say that it’s been good. Bittersweet is probably more like it. As I’ve blogged and written about extensively, I experienced many personal losses in 2008. One would think that would make 2008 the worst year ever. But I was so overwhelmed with it all, none of it hit me until early 2009.

So, just to encourage myself, I will list off the things that I did accomplish this year, amid the depression and other things running around in my head…

  • I started running, which I had never done before
  • I quit my job and decided to become a freelance writer
  • I took five online writing courses and made new writing friends
  • I kept on running
  • I worked at becoming disciplined to write every day
  • I started a blog
  • I began writing articles online for pay
  • I didn’t quit running
  • I worked on dealing with my grief
  • I put up a Christmas tree for the first time in years
  • I ran a 5k…on a treadmill
  • I wrote a novel, called The Bended Tree

So there it is. Some of things I did this year, totalling a great deal more than I’ve accomplished in the last several years combined. For me, I feel like the theme that ran through this year was courage. I’m sort of proud of myself for that.

The Year to Come

What will 2010 bring? One never knows, of course. But I would like to build on some of the things I started this year. What I plan to begin working on right away are:

  • Running at least one 5k road race…and finishing it
  • Becoming infinitely more disciplined with my writing
  • Generating a serious income with my writing so E. can quit his second job (NOTE: I am terrified of this one!)
  • Rewriting the draft of my novel and seeing where it takes me

Well, there it is. Fairly unglamorous. But I would like to use some of the courage I’ve developed and take more risks this year. For me, all of these involve a fair amount of personal and emotional risk and for that reason, I am shaking in my shoes.

But I plan to look toward this year as a chance to grow. Deep inside, that’s what drives me, and as long as I remember that, I think I just may be able to do it.

Happy New Year to all!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natasha
    Dec 31, 2009 @ 15:44:21

    Great list for both retrospective and moving forward.

    The personal and emotional risk comes through as honesty and raw emotion in your writing, which is gripping and compelling.

    And as for shaking in your shoes?? Why not refer to it as Tap Dancing???? Works for me!

    Reply

  2. darksculptures
    Dec 31, 2009 @ 14:38:29

    Congratulations for finding the courage you needed to move forward with your life. You accomplished quite a lot for someone who faced so many different challenges.

    I know that 2010 will be a greater year for you. You are a talented and beautiful woman. You can become the person that you have set your eyes upon. But, remember the person you are right now is still pretty darn awesome.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Dec 31, 2009 @ 14:48:38

      Awwww, shucks…(blushing).

      I had a meltdown with the hubs last night about writing. I started crying because I really want to become a published writer and I am afraid it will never happen. I feel sooooo far from it. But I guess the good thing about crying is that I realized how badly I really do want to be a writer. I’ve never cried about a career choice before! LOL

      Reply

  3. dayner
    Dec 31, 2009 @ 14:28:07

    Nice list. We’ve survived another one. I have high hopes for next year but I’m still unable to express them in writing. I guess my mind is still in the vacation blahs. Which five classes did you take. I wan to take another after the new year but I’m undecided. Do you have a recommendation?

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Dec 31, 2009 @ 14:45:45

      Let’s see, I took:

      – Ann’s class, obviously
      – Writeriffic I & II, and Write Your Life Story all by Eva Shaw
      – Fiction with Randy Alcorn

      I really liked Write Your Life Story the most after Ann’s class. Fiction is very techinical (a little too much for me at the time), but if you have a story written, it might be better. I didn’t.

      The Writeriffic classes were good, but they were reiterations of Ann’s class, with more info on NF publication (since that’s Eva’s ballywick).

      I’m planning to take some classes/workshops locally this year.

      Reply

      • kathanink
        Dec 31, 2009 @ 14:46:46

        Let me restate that the Writeriffic classes were great, but they were more creative writing exercises. If you want that, they’re good classes.

        Reply

        • dayner
          Dec 31, 2009 @ 20:31:58

          Thanks, I’m not sure yet what I want to do. I thought about taking an editing class so I can finish at least one project before starting a new one. I feel like I have too much unfinished business, it’s like clutter in my brain. I can’t start fresh until I clear some of it out. I’m ready when ever you want to start the critique group. That may be what I need to get something into a finished format.

          Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
