‘Tis the Season to…

I had originally written a fairly depressing, scroogish post, which I read the next day and deleted. Leaving the great replies from my friends because they are so sweet.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natasha
    Dec 15, 2009 @ 16:47:35

    Kathan — I never saw your original post, so I can’t comment on it specifically (beyond what I’m able to pick up on from these comments and some other things you’ve written).

    But I do think starting your own traditions can be very fulfilling. They don’t necessarily have to be related to Christmas exactly if those bring pain. I’ve always loved the winter solstice and the promise of light and new life that rises from that and from earth traditions.

    And, mostly, I’m sorry for your pain. For what it’s worth, your little group of wordsmith friends are forming a warm and caring virtual circle around you and surrounding you.

    Time helps many things. Give yourself time, and take time. Take good care.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Dec 16, 2009 @ 14:17:52

      Natasha – you’re so kind and sweet. I really do appreciate it. I am not embarassed to say that I am having a hard time this year. But after re-reading my post, I decided it was depressing me, and decided to just write a story that might encompass some of my feelings. Hence, “Elisha and the Christmas Child.”

      I often have a hard time this year. But writing this story has been really good for me…I am thinking writing a Christmas story might be a good tradition for me! 😀

      Reply

  2. kathanink
    Dec 15, 2009 @ 12:37:35

    Instead of wallowing in self-pity, I decided to “write it out.” So I am posting a 4 or 5 part short that I am writing called “Elisha and the Christmas Child.” I hope everyone enjoys it.

    Reply

  3. darksculptures
    Dec 14, 2009 @ 19:00:29

    I believe this will be the year of new beginnings for you and Erich. Your faith will guide you through this transition. You’ll learn to create new traditions in memory of your father and begin to embrace the possibilities your future holds.

    I won’t pretend to understand what it is to be childless and you know my heart not only goes out to you this time of year, but every day. God indeed blessed me with two children, but he has also taken two away. There are days I mourn for them, as I am sure there are days you mourn your father’s passing. Rejoice knowing they are in the Fathers hands and what better place to be as we celebrate his Son’s birth on earth, than in His glory in the Kingdom of Heaven. Someday we will all be united again my friend.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Dec 15, 2009 @ 12:36:16

      There area a lot of reasons why we never developed our own traditions. I’ve wanted to, but alot of things (both internal and external) have held me back. Even though we’ve been married 13 years, I think it’s time we started making our own traditions.

      Being childless makes this time of the year especially hard. Over time I have learned to accept it, but Christmas is so often “all about the kids” that it feels like it’s being rubbed in my face during the holiday season. So this year, I think we’ll start fresh and do something new. I don’t know what that is, but I’m going to try to figure it out before another year passes!

      Reply

  4. dayner
    Dec 14, 2009 @ 17:49:39

    Even without children you and your husband are still a family. Unlike you I grew up with very few traditions which is why I created them for our family.
    I’m sure by decorating a tree and starting new traditions will help you get in the spirit.
    I’m sure your dad would still want you to enjoy the season even though he isn’t here with you.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Dec 15, 2009 @ 12:32:46

      Thanks for your uplifting words. It’s been difficult for many reasons for us to develop our own traditions. But I think it’s time to start.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
