Fin!

I did it, I finished my 50,000 words for NaNoWriMo!

Now my acceptance speech: I want to thank my writing friends, Dayner (who shoved me over the NaNo cliff, perhaps leading to a good plotline for her book), Darksculptures (who is really one of the most encouraging persons and makes me feel like I’m the best writer on earth) and Nancy Drew Too (who is hilarious and has had me in stitches since we started this crazy journey). Thank you, without the three of you, I never would have finished. 

I’m so exhausted, I don’t have much to say about my novel, except…yeah, I’m done! But I did celebrate by going to a write-in at Borders and posting my novel in the presence of other writers.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dayner
    Nov 30, 2009 @ 16:07:30

    I never had any doubt! It’s amazing what a triple dog dare will do. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Natasha
    Nov 30, 2009 @ 15:10:48

    I agree that December is just a crazy month in general to take on too much stuff — plus I think it is very beneficial to take a break and then look at this stuff with fresh eyes later.

    Reply

  3. Natasha
    Nov 29, 2009 @ 21:19:08

    You are absolutely right, I couldn’t have done it without you all. I’m still not done with the first draft, but it will happen. I don’t have quite the sense of push I had a month ago, but I know we have accomplished something great together!

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Nov 30, 2009 @ 09:57:21

      I am so glad we all did this together!! It really was fun and now that it’s over, seemed rather short.

      Somehow we need to come up with a plan b/w us to continue to work on these things to get them publishable.

      Reply

  4. darksculptures
    Nov 29, 2009 @ 18:48:25

    Posting your final count at a write in sounds like it was a lot of fun! What a way to celebrate the end of a new beginning–your first completed novel.

    I never had a doubt that you would finish.

    So other than some well earned sleep, where do you think you will go from here? Another novel? Maybe a short story? Some poetry?

    What ever you decide to do, enter the challenge confident that no task is too big, because YOU WROTE YOUR FIRST NOVEL IN 30 DAYS!

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Nov 29, 2009 @ 18:54:45

      Thanks so much. I do feel like I really accomplished something big. I would like take a month off, start to think about my next story (that I didn’t write during NaNo), and begin editing this one come the first of the year.

      What about you? What will you do next?

      Reply

      • darksculptures
        Nov 29, 2009 @ 19:05:19

        I’m holding editing until after the first of the year also. Unfortunately I still have a few chapters to write before I am finished. I set a goal of 2000 words a day which should have me finished up in about eight days.

        There is a short story kicking around in the back of my head, I may start it soon. But first and foremost is the poetry that seems to be beckoning me at the moment. And of course I must listen to the muse. She is so demanding!

        Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
