The Home Stretch

There’s something bittersweet about knowing you’re about to finish a race. All you’ve worked hard for, trained for, is seeing it’s fruition and you’re about to cross the finish line.

That’s where I am with my novel. Tomorrow, I will finish the 50,000th word of my first novel-length piece of fiction. Today I wrote slowly, savoring the words. In some odd way, I am wishing it wouldn’t end. I’ve fallen in love with my characters in a way I never thought I could. So when it’s over, I am afraid I will miss meeting with them every day, very much.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darksculptures
    Nov 29, 2009 @ 17:51:55

    50,167 words so far – A Winner!

    Congratulations! I’m passing out the party favors! WOOHOO!

    Reply

  2. Natasha
    Nov 29, 2009 @ 17:31:38

    Congratulations! I know how you feel that the characters become a part of you. I’m feeling, though, that this month was only just the beginning of the journey we and our characters are taking together.

    Next comes fine-tuning the foibles and endearing traits of some of our characters and, for some of the others, just keep feeding them poisoned eggs until they keel over on their own. Editing will help us keep company with the characters for a while.

    The other extremely important characters in my novel are y’all — you have been tremendously supportive and it’s made a huge difference. thanx…..

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Nov 30, 2009 @ 10:47:08

      I did get revenge on one of the characters, like you suggested way back. I didn’t kill him though. He was too pathetic, he had to live so he could suffer more. Besides, so many good guys died in my book, I couldn’t bear to kill one more. Maybe in the rewrite!

      Reply

  3. darksculptures
    Nov 29, 2009 @ 07:14:07

    Way to go Kathan!

    I’ll be thinking of you today as I write and I’ll be taking to heart your thoughts on savoring the moments we spend with our charactors. When I woke and sat to write I was filled with angst. But after reading how tenderly you spoke of your characters and your writing experience I was overtaken by a sudden sense of calm. Thank you for that.

    Enjoy your day with your characters as you cross the finish line together!

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Nov 30, 2009 @ 10:45:08

      😀 Glad I could bring some calm to your day. I think I was drinking a glass of wine when I wrote this, so I was feeling more calm than I had all weekend…

      Reply

  4. dayner
    Nov 29, 2009 @ 00:34:31

    I know how you feel but you’ll have a long time to edit so your times not over yet. Funny how these characters become such an important part of our lives. You’re doing an awesome job! Relish in it and savor the last day of writing then go post your final word count and celebrate.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Nov 30, 2009 @ 10:44:22

      As of today I am looking forward to editing my piece. But I am going to wait until Jan 1 to do it. I think I need to get my head cleared of it all so I can look at it with fresh eyes.

      What about you? Are you going to get it ready to publish?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
