Proud by Susan Boyle

I have to confess, I’m a little bit of a sucker for Susan Boyle. There’s something about a story of someone who hid in the shadows, unnoticed by most, coming out in such a blaze that she commands to be noticed – in one way or another – by all. I think that story probably appeals to everyone on some level.

Reluctant to buy her entire album, I listened to a few songs on iTunes, and was suprised to find a song that really touched a cord with me, called Proud. On several levels, this could be theme song for me of sorts. She sings it in such a raw way, that I found myself identifying with every word.

All of my life
I have watched you climbing mountains, chasing dreams
All of my life
You gave me everything,
But you don’t have to give the world to me

Just say you love me as I –
say you want me as I am
Say I’m someone in your eyes
It’s all I wanted to be.
Oh, just let me go, I know one day if I’m allowed
If I’m allowed, one day I’ll make you proud

All of your life
You’ve taken chances, broke the rules time after time
All of your life
You’ve gone your own way
Give me this chance and I’ll go mine.

I’m trying to please you now, it’s all I seem to do
I’ve got to be me now, cause there’s already one of you
I’m on my knees, so help me please don’t shoot me down

Though you can’t see it now, someday I’ll make you proud.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natasha
    Nov 24, 2009 @ 08:54:16

    I went to Youtube and listened. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nhrnPuOdxM8

    The sound quality isn’t all that hot but you get an idea of what a lovely voice she has. And how could you not be moved by her story?

    Reply

  2. dayner
    Nov 23, 2009 @ 23:21:15

    These are beautiful lyrics. Wow-now I have to go listen. Thanks for sharing. That is a really great picture of her too, it makes me smile. 🙂

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Nov 24, 2009 @ 12:26:44

      I think it’s a lovely photo of her, too. There are many unflattering ones, but this one’s good. I’m glad you like the lyrics!

      Reply

  3. darksculptures
    Nov 23, 2009 @ 21:21:53

    Am I the only person left in this world who had not heard her sing! The lyrics look beautiful. One day I should crawl into the 21st century and get current with my pop culture. I feel like a dinosaur!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
