Friday Flash 55

Blinking at the tower of pine caskets on the sidewalk, I wondered which one belonged to Timmy. The wind kicked up a pungent smell as dry leaves created a tiny tornado at the base of the stack of boxes. I shoved my hands deeper into the pockets of my jacket and turned to walk home.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dayner
    Nov 20, 2009 @ 16:58:01

    Alright!!! Where did my comment go. I didn’t curse our anything–I was really good this time. (bottom lip out)

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Nov 20, 2009 @ 17:01:10

      I’m beginning to think it sends things to spam that repetitive. I had something repetitive in someone else’s post and it sent it to spam. You have 55. I know, so dumb, but I think that’s what’s happening.

      You must have a knack for using double characters! 😀

      Reply

  2. dayner
    Nov 20, 2009 @ 16:57:00

    This is an excellent opening paragraph. You have a knack for imagery. I still remember the stained glass window in a previous Flash 55.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Nov 20, 2009 @ 17:01:49

      Really? Thanks!! That’s a compliment, that someone would remember something you wrote a while later…

      Reply

  3. darksculptures
    Nov 20, 2009 @ 15:56:50

    I thought so! As I was reading I said, man this sounds like part of Kathan’s book. Then as I clicked to respond I saw your respose to Natasha.

    Excellent opening paragraph. Very powerful with incredible hook.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Nov 20, 2009 @ 16:47:32

      Cool – this is one of those things where I had the idea, and then wrote it, and I don’t think it sounded as good on paper as it did in my head. But I’m leaving as is for now.

      Reply

  4. Natasha
    Nov 20, 2009 @ 12:21:12

    Sniff. This really does touch a nerve, and packs a wallop with its gentle imagery.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
