More Quote of the Day

Ok, so I’m smack in the middle of my novel and the truth is, I just don’t have the time or mental energy to come up with a good blog post. Therefore, I’ll share what I read this weekend in a NaNoWriMo email I received from Maureen Johnson:

Shield-Nano-Blue-Brown-RGB-102px“It took me a little while, probably a few years of full-time writing, to fully accept that that middle bit was where I was going to be spending pretty much all of my time. This is the thing they don’t tell you. When you see portrayals of writers on television or in movies, what are they normally doing? They’re sipping coffee or cocktails, or jetting around to signings, or solving murders for fun. Lies!

Most of the time we are deep inland—sitting at home, or at the office, or some shed or underground bunker. We eat what we find and slurp coffee from anything that is sturdier than coffee. Often, we are inappropriately dressed for any human interaction. This is because we are in the middle. And in the middle, things are rough. You make bargains with yourself like, ‘If I finish this chapter, I can have a shower!’ Or, ‘If I just get this paragraph right, I can eat those stale Oreos!'”

Well, this certainly explains alot! Which reminds me, I am ahead in my word count, so that means I get to take a shower…

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dayner
    Nov 16, 2009 @ 16:18:22

    Yes, showering is a good thing. 🙂 Lucky for us we have very understanding husbands.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Nov 17, 2009 @ 13:20:50

      No kidding! I’ve really been trying hard to turn into the crazy noveller that Chris Baty talks about. I want this experience to somewhat exciting and enjoyable for the hubs so he doesn’t regret encouraging me to do it. He’s excited that I’m not working and I’m pursuing my writing…I want to keep it that way!

      Reply

  2. Natasha
    Nov 16, 2009 @ 13:32:23

    I loved her description of the middle. Which is where I’m assuming I am right now. I think I can figure out how to tie the two disparate story threads together, sort of, but I may have just introduced another story line altogether….

    NaNoWriMo 2010, here I come! I’ve already gotten An Inkling!

    Reply

  3. darksculptures
    Nov 16, 2009 @ 09:51:40

    Boy isn’t that the truth!

    I’m smack in the middle and getting close to the real action where the story will climax. I think the only thing that is keeping me going right now is that I can’t wait to get to the catharsis.

    After you shower you can borrow my bottle of Sung! It’s amazing how reinvigorated you can get when you no longer smell like you’ve been on a ten day camping trip.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
