Now for the Hard Part: Week 2 of NaNoWriMo

I may as well start by saying I’m behind in my word count. Way behind. With guests here this weekend, I had a difficult time staying focused and couldn’t keep up.

But I am determined to finish, so this week I’ll be making up some ground, which is hard because I am slipping into the “Week Two Funk.” I’ve established my characters, started the conflict, and now I feel like I merely giving a play-by-play of the goings-on in my protag’s life. I am boring myself writing it, so I can’t imagine what a reader would feel reading it.

Aside from slipping in any ninjas (which is hard to do in a historical novel set during the 1918 flu pandemic)…does anyone have suggestions for how to “spice up” my story? And Dayner, I don’t think a steamy shower scene would be appropriate…

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. natasha
    Nov 09, 2009 @ 11:54:41

    I bored myself so much with the crap I wrote over the week-end I couldn’t stand it, or me. It’s just a good thing I had the opportunity to seriously overeat to compensate for it.

    Can you do any kind of flash forward to how the pandemic impacted people in the future — like you? or my hub?

    In every disaster situation, there are always people who try to take advantage of those who are affected — looting after a hurricane for example. Could you introduce a really evil character who ultimately gets what he deserves? Like an earlier incarnation of some of your Mean Girls?

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Nov 09, 2009 @ 12:33:18

      You know, that’s a good thought. There have been some people who’ve really been hurtful, but having one get what he deserves might be a really good idea. So far that hasn’t happened. I’m so glad I asked you guys, these are all really good and I think I am going to use them all!!

      This might get me through week 2!

      Reply

  2. dayner
    Nov 09, 2009 @ 11:47:36

    I put in ‘Arbitrary text or HTML’ widget.

    Reply

  3. darksculptures
    Nov 09, 2009 @ 11:43:12

    How about adding a bully.

    This child could be lashinging out because he lost his parents and reacting by trying to be tougher than he really is. The character could act as a nemesis. Later in the story, they could resolve their conflict and help each other through the ordeal. Make it a sub plot lying under the main plot.

    Just a thought.

    Don’t worry about your word count. I didn’t write near as much as I had planned to either. We will just have to keep each other going this week.

    You have my personal email if you need to vent or scream!

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Nov 09, 2009 @ 12:31:50

      Good idea!!! Super one, actually. Dig more into a subcharacter. My creative juices are going with this, and it could work that this character helps him! Ooooh, this could change alot in my story, in a good way. Thanks!!!!

      I may email you! Thanks. 😉

      Reply

  4. dayner
    Nov 09, 2009 @ 11:40:12

    Okay–i left you a really long comment and it disappeared.
    If you want me to remove you in the list I can. Think of it as motivation.
    I can give you the entire code if you want the same widget. Let me know–in the mean time I’ll re-write my comment about your protag.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Nov 09, 2009 @ 12:27:18

      No, I’m totally teasing! Leave me there, it will give me the impetus to move ahead in my word count. 🙂

      Reply

  5. dayner
    Nov 09, 2009 @ 11:36:27

    Well…that goes to show what you know. My steamy shower scene wasn’t steamy at all. One person was fully dressed, one not. One person was crying and one wasn’t–and the water was cold. You all assumed it was steamy, I just never corrected you. 🙂

    If the mundane part of day to day life isn’t cutting it for your protag than try to throw in some background–or memories. Maybe he thinks back to a happier time or something like that. Maybe aside from his deary future of illness(assuming he is ill) he should find humor in his situation. Just some ideas. And never underestimate the power of a shower. heh heh heh

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Nov 09, 2009 @ 12:29:56

      I found you! And apparently we all have dirty minds. :-p

      I think memories may be a good idea. His mother died, and she’s in the story in the beginning, but it would make complete sense to think about her. Or maybe a dream sequence!…actually, he’s not sick, he’s in an orphanage (for now), but his future is somewhat bleak, until the end. Or perhaps I will throw in a shower after all…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
