Write or Die

Write or DieSomeone at my NaNoWriMo Write-In told me about this site, Write or Die. It’s for those of us who are having a hard time meeting our daily word requirement. You set the time and the number of words you wish to type and select the sort of annoying thing you’d like to have happen if you stop writing.

My favorite was the “Normal” setting, where it played the most horrible song ever, “Mmmm-Bop,” whenever I quit writing for even a few seconds. I’d do anything to not hear that song again, so I typed as fast as I could. I guess you could say it worked!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darksculptures
    Nov 09, 2009 @ 13:23:56

    I did this once. But I cheated and turned off my speakers, so I didn’t quite get the full effect.

    I don’t think I want to try the kamaikaze/evil. I’d probably write something I really profound and then watch it get eaten because I wouldn’t know how to follow that up.

    I’d have a hard time trying to get it back.

    Have you ever had that happen? I mean think of the perfect sentence or plot line and not had a chance to write it down. Then, when you finally sit to retrieve it from your brain and write it down it is gone forever? I hate it when that happens.

    Now I carry a notepad everywhere and those Ah-Ha moments don’t seem to happen as often. I bet if I left my notebook at home they would return.

    Reply

  2. natasha
    Nov 07, 2009 @ 14:29:43

    I tried it. When you go to kamaikaze/evil, it EATS YOUR WORDS whenever you stop writing. Yikes!

    What’s a NaNoWriMo write-in like? There aren’t that many folks in my area participating, so I don’t think there are ‘official’ write-ins anywhere. Okay, I’m writing this instead of working on my word count. Later.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Nov 08, 2009 @ 17:14:00

      I know! It’s weird. An interesting way to keep motivated!

      The write-in’s I’ve been to have been held at Borders. There’s a person in charge who decides where it will be, etc. The girl in charge of mine is really nice and brings treats for us. 🙂 I’ve only been twice, but it’s been mainly the same people and everyone just sits with their laptops and types. Every once in a while someone will ask for a suggestion or share something funny. It keeps my butt in a chair, typing for 2 hours straight, which is a good thing. Plus, it’s fun to see what others are doing.

      I plan to go to at least one a week, and I am hoping a writing group might come out of it or something?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
