Friday Flash 55

She began with a single word, then another and another. Her fingers glided across the keyboard like a pianist writing a symphony.MPj04387000000[1]

The adagio danced like a ballerina. The air soared like a beautiful bird. The requiem mourned like death.

At the end of the month she was finished. 50,000 words, complete.

It was a masterpiece.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. natasha
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 12:05:16

    Oh, this is lovely! And true indeed. Thank you so much for sharing it, maestro! (is the feminine form maestra? I don’t know.)

    Reply

  2. dayner
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 10:34:06

    This is beautiful! And it will be a masterpiece. The most beautiful part about your new masterpiece is that you set a goal and met that goal on your own. Just think of all the other goals you can achieve now.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Nov 06, 2009 @ 12:37:07

      I agree, the masterpiece for me is in the finishing of it. I am so glad you challenged me to do this. It’s weary-ing (not a word!), but it’s like when I trained to run a 5k…just finishing was important, not how I got there. I will be glad when this month is over, but I will have done something I always wanted to do and never had the guts to start.

      Reply

  3. darksculptures
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 10:00:44

    This was wonderful, lyrical, and flowing. I believe of all of the Flash 55’s you have written, this one ranks as my favorite. It is obvious that your creative juices are flowing. Embrace the moment! You are a master composer and words are your notes.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Nov 06, 2009 @ 10:32:07

      Thanks! I enjoyed writing it, too. I love the feeling of writing lyrically. I wish I was doing my story that way, but I am not sure if it works for the story. Who knows, I’ll figure that out in revision!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
