Is Murder Acceptable In This Case?

MPj03876190000[1]I am on Day 3 of my novel-writing adventure. It’s not going as I expected. I thought I’d alot better at writing crap than I have been.

As an editor and writer with tight deadlines, I learned the fine art of getting as much “good writing” done as quickly as possible. So my Inner Editor would go into overdrive every time I wrote, making sure what I was getting down on paper was as close to perfect as possible.

Even though I’ve been working on my creative writing over the last several months, it hasn’t been on a deadline. But now I am trying to write several pages a day, where bad writing is perfectly acceptable and included in my word count.

So I’m wondering if I should just toss my Inner Editor out my second story office window so I can finish my novel (or at least a good chunk of it) in the next 27 days? Of course, I’ll need her in December, so I don’t know if murder is the best option.

Any thoughts?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. natasha
    Nov 03, 2009 @ 22:43:53

    What inner editor? I never heard of such a thing…

    Reply

  2. dayner
    Nov 03, 2009 @ 20:17:25

    I say get her drunk, instead of editing she might help you create some really great writing…just a suggestion.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Nov 04, 2009 @ 13:12:31

      Speaking of murder, have you heard about the Travelling Shovel of Death on the NaNo site? I think I might use it in my story…

      Reply

  3. darksculptures
    Nov 03, 2009 @ 15:54:34

    My inner editor will be spending the month of November enjoying the sights and sounds of the ocean floor. I sent her to live with the fish. Don’t worry, she has an ample air supply and will be back on the surface December 1st.

    So, if you can’t find it in your heart to do the unthinkable, send her away on vacation. It might cost more, but eventually, when she runs out of money, she will have to come home.

    Okay…I’m not getting to 15K today. I have done far too much goofing off. LOL

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Nov 03, 2009 @ 16:47:31

      I think I will send her on vacation! If I give her everything I have, it might keep her away for the rest of the month.

      I’m glad I could participate in your DOP (Day of Procrastination…I had to name it after I took one yesterday).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
