Feeling Sad About My Novel

It’s not what you think. I’m not sad because overwhelmed with my month-long noveling venture (not yet, anyway!).

I am sad because something very tragic is about to happen to my protag, that sends him on a journey he never wanted or deserved. The fact that this story is based on my grandfather (so I know some of it is true), makes it even sadder still.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dayner
    Nov 03, 2009 @ 13:23:07

    I actually made myself cry yesterday. My MC buried his wife…boo hoo!

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Nov 03, 2009 @ 14:29:21

      I thought it would be harder than it was, but I did it. I actually cried, too, before I wrote it. I had a terrible sad feeling all day. 😦 But I feel better know that I hit my word count for the day!

      Reply

  2. natasha
    Nov 02, 2009 @ 21:30:45

    Kathan — Mosey over to DS’s, where I threw out some ‘real life’ stuff about that flu pandemic for you. Sounds like your grandfather and my hub’s mother might have some things in common.

    It turns out that at this point, my main character is some variant of – uh – me and so I don’t know how that will turn out in terms of emotional burden. Perhaps Johnny Depp and Colin Firth will show up at some point if things get heavy. 🙂

    Meanwhile, I’m done with the chocolate and chai tea for the day and have moved on to chardonnay. A girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do.

    Reply

  3. darksculptures
    Nov 02, 2009 @ 13:09:42

    Aw Kathan, don’t be sad.

    Think of the triumph at that moment of catharsis in your protagonist’s future. Think about how you get to pull him through his struggles and make everything okay again with the stroke of a pen in the end.

    Unless of course you are writing a tragedy, in that case maybe you had better have a piece of chocolate and a cup of tea with Natasha and me. It will make you feel better, I promise.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Nov 02, 2009 @ 13:33:23

      It’s not a tragedy, but so far I don’t know enough of the plot to say how things will get ‘resolved’ in the end. So for now, I think I better enjoy that tea and chocolate with you guys!

      I can’t believe I am this emotional about my character…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
