Gearing Up to Write My Novel

P1040302I am just about ready for NaNoWriMo (where I will attempt to write 50,000 words in 30 days). I have a few characters, a theme, a little plot to get me started. All I had left was to setup my “writing space.” I cleaned it and gotten as ready as I could for Sunday.

I set my office up with the following:

  • 2 notebooks, a small one for carrying and a big one for my desk
  • a bag of M&M’s to serve as mini rewards, in bowl on my desk (if my husband stops eating them)
  • a mango scented candle for frazzled nerves
  • a cup of pens and highlighters
  • a link to Merriam-Webster’s dictionary and thesaurus
  • my book bag, which I take wherever I go
  • a batch of jourals I’ve used for writing in the last year, in case I need anything from them
  • a pound of Starbucks coffee; but let’s face it, I’ll probably just go to Starbucks every morning
  • iPod and my Logitech player
  • some jazz and classical CDs and a CD player
  • my writer’s totem (see post from October 27th)
  • Chris Baty’s book, No Plot? No Problem!
  • The Courage to Write by Ralph Keyes
  • a link to my profile at the NaNoWriMo website (my name is kathanink if you want to find me)
  • a few Write-In and Meet-Up dates written in my calendar for other local NaNo writers (the first one is this Sunday)
  • Kleenex, but I’ll probably use my sleeve if I start crying because it’s on the other side of the room…if my writing gets that emotional, I’m not stopping to get up for a tissue
  • a few bottles of Reisling (I’m not a big drinker, but I may need to celebrate at some point)
  • lots of clean underwear, per the suggestion of Chris Baty

I hope this is everything I need to get me started. If not, it’s going to have to wait until December.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. natasha
    Nov 01, 2009 @ 20:19:23

    It is indeed a lovely space. Oh, is that a TIMER I see on your desk? What a good idea!

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Nov 02, 2009 @ 08:41:10

      Yes, and I should use it for NaNo goals…I actually have it for writing exercises, and when it goes off it usually scares the living daylights out of me!

      Reply

  2. darksculptures
    Nov 01, 2009 @ 15:09:26

    I love your writing space. It is very pretty and serene. That’s a great idea to place a scented candle nearby!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
