The Journey to My 5k

running on treadmillLast month I boldly announced on my blog that I would be running a 5k in October. I had a race picked out and planned to run it in mid-October. I had been training primarily on a treadmill and was on target at the end of September to enter the race and finish.

Until one week before the race. I have to admit, I was doing only a minimal amount of running outdoors, which was part of my problem. A week beforehand, I was supposed to run almost a full 5k at the trail where I was to run the real race. That morning I awoke, excited to do it. I bundled up since it was a bit chilly, got my iPod and went to the trail. I started running and within a few minutes I my asthma kicked in and my ears were freezing. Not to mention, I was jogging on a wet gravel trail, so it felt like I was running through quicksand.

I ran about a mile and a half that day. I was discouraged, because it was clear that I was not going to be able to complete a 5k the following week. Amid tears (my own), my husband suggested I run it on the treadmill. Who cares if it’s indoors or out, he said. He made some sense, so I changed gears and decided to give myself a couple weeks and I’d run the 5k, without the fun of other runners around me, on the treadmill at the gym.

Well, today I did it! I ran my 5k and finised in less time than I’d been running up till now (I won’t say how slow that was, but let’s just say I didn’t break any speed records).

Now, my next goal: writing a novel in 30 days.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. natasha
    Oct 30, 2009 @ 18:36:49

    You go, girl! Good for you. The only person you ever compete with who matters is yourself, I think, and so 1) running the 5K and 2) besting your past time is totally awesome.

    Congratulations!

    Now on to the big 50K word race!

    Reply

  2. dayner
    Oct 30, 2009 @ 14:41:22

    Awesome, congratulations. I’m sure the treadmill was a wiser choice for your body. I have no doubt about your next challenge! You’ll get 50,000 in thirty days.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Oct 30, 2009 @ 15:21:53

      I think it was the wiser choice for my body, but right now my legs feel like noodles!

      Honestly, having done it is kind of like rock climbing (which I’ve done only once so I’m speaking from total experience). I feel like I can do anything, and I am more confident that I can finish this 50k word thing.

      Reply

  3. darksculptures
    Oct 30, 2009 @ 14:37:14

    Hurray! Of course I didn’t doubt you in the first place. I haven’t reached my weight goal yet, but I am getting closer. I’ll let you know when I make that first big marker! Keep it up Kathan, your an inspiration!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
