A Mini Novel Crisis

fall decorSo I pretty much had my story idea set (not too much of it, but the characters, setting, theme, etc.). I have done a little prewriting on it, not much. I’ve been very nervous about this story since it’s rather complex and weaves two stories together. This is my first novel and I am not sure I would be a success at it such a complicated story. Or if I could really get 50k words out of it. My inner editor is on overdrive with this story since it’s based on my life, so it’s very personal.

Then last night, I was watching a show on the 1918 Spanish Flu and it reignited story idea I’ve had since my teenage years, based on my grandfather’s life. I never knew where to go with this story, but immediately a hook and a general plot of the book came to me, as well as a theme. This would probably be an easier story to write since it’s a “simpler” plot (hopefully still a good story, just not as complex).

I need opinions here! Quick! I don’t know if I should abandon my first story for NaNoWriMo and refocus on the 2nd one, or I am just panicking and spazzing out, as I am prone to do.

NOTE: the photo of the pumpkins are just because I’m in love with the fall, not because it relates to this post in any way.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: And now the panic sets in… « Kathan Ink.
  2. natasha
    Oct 30, 2009 @ 18:46:48

    Sorry I missed this post earlier today. What Dayner and DS said.

    I think you should go with the second story as well for this venture. I think it’s too hard to do basically a self-story without editing it as you go. Plus, you said it was a complicated story and you were nervous about it — which makes sense for something personally emotion-packed.

    And you’re not ABANDONING that life story, you’re just not writing it in 30 days.

    I say go for the second story. Your life story will be waiting for you in December!

    Reply

  3. darksculptures
    Oct 30, 2009 @ 10:24:31

    I’m with Dayner on this one.

    Reply

  4. dayner
    Oct 30, 2009 @ 10:06:29

    I say do the second story. I think you’ve put so much thought and personal emotions into the story about your life it’ll be too hard not editing as you go.
    I read something from Chris Baty that said if you write your NaNoWriMo story with characters that are already very important to you then it’ll be to difficult for you to allow yourself to write poorly and finish the 50,000 words.
    Kathan, try this new experience with something your willing to toss if you hate it. You can’t do that with your life story it’s too important to you. Reread the introduction to No Plot? No Problem!

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Oct 30, 2009 @ 11:58:40

      Thanks, Dayner. My gut says you’re right. I feel really excited about writing the 2nd one, but I agree, I am afraid that the first story will take more than 30 days can accomplish (esp emotionally). My husband thought the same thing.

      I am going to go back and reread the intro, just to feel better about it. 🙂 Does this mean you got the book?

      Reply

      • dayner
        Oct 30, 2009 @ 14:43:43

        Yes, after an exhausted search I found it yesterday. I think I got the last copy in the Bay Area. It really is a great book and validates my writing process so of course I love it. I think Chris Baty and I are from the same planet.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
