Game On: NaNoWriMo

nano_09_blk_participant_120x240_pngI’m getting my game face ready for one of the most grueling months of my life. Starting Sunday I will be toally engulfed in NaNoWriMo, which is not where aliens come in the dark of night and abduct me. Rather, it’s short for ‘National Novel Writing Month,’ where each November thousands of wannabe authors embark on a worldwide mission to die a slow death by novel writing.

Dayner*, one of my writing friends, threw down the NaNoWriMo gauntlet a couple of months ago as a personal challenge to me. Never being one to turn down a taunt, I decided to take her up on it. Soon some other writing friends, Darksculptures* and Nancy Drew Too* joined in. We’re all determined to write 50,000 words by November 30th, or die trying.

So, to all my friends, I thank you for your friendship…to my husband, I appreciate your undying support of my writing…to my dog, you’re going to have to let yourself out…because I am going to be locked in my writing room, effective November 1, until I am done. Okay, I’ll leave for bathroom breaks. But don’t expect me to shower.

* Don’t ask me why we don’t go by our real names, we just don’t. Using a pseudonym is like a secret writer code. 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. natasha
    Oct 27, 2009 @ 12:08:03

    Secret writer code — remember writing with vinegar (I think) and toothpicks on paper and once the vinegar dried, you could only read it if you…..

    uh oh. I forgot the rest.

    Reply

  2. darksculptures
    Oct 27, 2009 @ 06:38:04

    I’m happy that dayner called you out. When the month of November is complete, I think you will realize just how much talent you actually have.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Oct 27, 2009 @ 14:49:06

      Thanks, DS – I hope you’re right. I have tons of ideas for my story, but I hope I can actually squeeze 50k out of it…eek!!

      Reply

  3. dayner
    Oct 26, 2009 @ 22:55:14

    Ah but we do know the real names don’t we…mwahahaha. ;o)
    It sounds like you’re ready. I get more scared everyday–oh wait that’s DS’s awesome horror writing making me afraid.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
