Flash Friday 55: 10.23.09

attic windowThe window in the attic is my only friend. The brightly colored stained glass, marred by cracks, is the most beautiful thing in this place. Most days I sit in front of the attic window because it reminds me that beyond it, maybe there is hope.

I have lived at Manteno State Mental Hopsital since 1947.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. natasha
    Oct 23, 2009 @ 11:33:02

    I like the strength that you capture with this characterization.

    Reply

  2. darksculptures
    Oct 23, 2009 @ 11:02:43

    Awesome! I agree with Dayner also. Great imagery. What a great hook this would be for the beginning of a book. I would continue to read. You should save this nugget and explore it some day. Like maybe next week!

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Oct 23, 2009 @ 13:21:43

      I’m already ahead of you! This may or may not be an excerpt of a thought about my story. Plot happens, so we’ll see, but she’s one of my characters.

      Reply

  3. dayner
    Oct 23, 2009 @ 09:50:58

    Great imagery! Hopeful yet very sad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
