A Fresh, New Notebook

journalA few weeks ago, a writing friend called me out on her blog. She knows that, while I have a great desire to write a novel, it’s been equally balanced by my inability to stay focused on completing one long story. So she threw down the gavel: join her in writing a novel in one month. Since I love to meet a challenge, I decided to take her up on it.

So yesterday I bought two notebooks, a larger one to keep at my desk, and a smaller one to carry with me wherever I go. The two notebooks match. They’re a beautiful golden color with a toile pattern on the front. I’m not sure why, but toile inspires me.

The small notebook asked me to write in it; so on my way home I stopped by my dad’s gravesite and wrote down some thoughts about how the cemetery makes me feel. I love a new journal. It whispers to me, it asks me to tell my secrets.

However, in all my years of journaling, I have yet to fill an entire notebook. I always begin with eagerness, scribbling words on the fresh paper. Then somewhere, I get bored with those thoughts and buy a new notebook. I wish I were like C.S. Lewis who, when writing his journals, “A Grief Observed,” scrawled his emotions in unfilled journals which he had used for other writings.

But, alas, I am too drawn to the freshly purchased notebook, with its pages full of potential, waiting for my secrets to be told.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darksculptures
    Oct 20, 2009 @ 13:26:26

    I love new journals,
    new paper of all kinds.
    Notebook or legal pad,
    they’ll all do just fine.

    Reply

  2. natasha
    Oct 20, 2009 @ 13:09:33

    I like spiral-bound notebooks. I’m left-handed and start writing from what righties would call the back.

    But my handwriting is lousy enough that sometimes I just like to hit the keyboard and type.

    I bought a new notebook with*sky blue* paper for NaNoWriMo notes, diagrams, and sketches.

    Now all I need to do is write something…..

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Oct 20, 2009 @ 14:50:11

      Oh, I know what you mean about spirals. I am write handed, but they still get in my way if I write on the back of the page. :-/

      I am excited you’re doing NaNoWriMo, too! So far that’s 4 of us!!

      Reply

  3. dayner
    Oct 20, 2009 @ 11:19:03

    It’s nice to have you back my friend! And I’m so glad you’re taking on the challenge. It’s all I can do to keep from saying “I triple dog dare you”. Hopefully after all my big talk I won’t be the only person who doesn’t finish next month.

    Reply

  4. Beth Prascak
    Oct 19, 2009 @ 22:58:36

    Are you participating in NaNoWriMo?
    I have wanted to try this too.
    Interesting, but I like to hand write some of my initial thoughts on paper too. I don’t go straight to the computer. I like the yellow legal pads. I don’t know if you remember, but it was a teacher from Arlington (can’t remember who) that called it “Inspirational yellow paper”. It has stuck with me.
    I am not a journaler, but maybe I should start. My grandfather was a journaler & my son likes to also.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Oct 20, 2009 @ 08:41:27

      Beth,
      Yes, my plan is to do NaNoWriMo. I can’t believe I’m going to even attempt this! I am terrified…BTW, if you do it, you MUST tell me! 🙂

      Are you talking about Steve Athenases? If so, he was the best teacher ever and totally inspired me to begin writing (though I supposed I did it since I was very young, but he was the one who showed me I actually had something to say).

      By a cheap notebook and try it! They always say if you buy an expensive one, you’ll feel like you need to say something important in it. Just buy a $2 one that inspires you and write anything!

      Reply

    • dayner
      Oct 20, 2009 @ 11:15:43

      I find yellow legal pads make the perfect journal…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
