Mean Girls – Part 3

Delores closeupglaucous • \GLAW-kus\ adjective: of a pale yellow-green color 

Delores ducked into an empty conference room and shut the door as soon as Ivy stepped in. She spoke in hushed tones, in case anyone passing by might hear.

“What are you doing?” Delores hissed through her teeth. “She’s going to find out about our plan. You’re being too obvious.”

Ivy rolled her eyes, which was her custom of doing at least twenty times a day. “You’re crazy, Molly’s not that smart. Besides, I thought about it last night and instead of just getting her in trouble, I think we should get rid of her once and for all.”

Delores’ eyes widened. “You mean do something that will get her fired?” She wasn’t sure if she liked this idea. It went way beyond their original plan.

Ivy stared at Delores through narrowed eyes. Boy, this girl is dumb, she thought.

“No, I mean really get rid of her,” Ivy replied obviously.

Delores gasped. Ivy waited for her to respond, but she only stood there, her mouth agape and her face glaucous.

Ivy opened the door to exit, but only before leaving the words trailing behind her, “Don’t worry, I’ll take care of it.” She breezed out of the conference room leaving Delores frozen.

Her mind raced. What did Ivy mean that she’d take care of it? What was she going to do? Delores hadn’t planned on doing anything illegal and certainly nothing that would actually hurt Molly. But now Ivy was going to do something to get rid of Molly and Delores would be in on the whole scheme.

Delores walked stiffly back to her desk. Ivy hadn’t returned to her cubicle and Molly sat in her chair, pleasantly typing. Delores stared at her, boring her eyes into the side of Molly’s perfectly shaped head and long, golden hair.

She reminded herself that this was all Molly’s fault. If she hadn’t tried to push in on Delores’ place and steal her job (which is how Delores was choosing to remember the discussion) things would be fine. Delores decided that whatever Ivy had in mind for Molly, she definitely had it coming.

Delores’s thoughts were interrupted by Molly standing over her desk.

“I brought cookies if you want some,” Molly smiled. Her perfect, white teeth caught a glint of the morning sun through the window.

That’s it, thought Delores. She’s definitely going down.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natasha
    Oct 05, 2009 @ 20:20:33

    This is great! I can hardly wait to find out what happens next.

    I added you as a buddy on NaNoWriMo. My user name is Natasha_G since Natasha was already taken.

    Reply

  2. darksculptures
    Sep 30, 2009 @ 12:58:58

    I second everything that Dayner said.

    This story has me hooked. I am worried that there might be something wrong with the cookies. What has that “B” Ivy done to “get rid” of Molly. I guess I will just have to wait and see, hopefully I have a few fingernails left when you post the next scene.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Sep 30, 2009 @ 14:51:57

      Thanks, DS!! I can’t say for sure that I know what will happen myself. This is the first time I didn’t really have a plan before writing, which is very cool and exciting for me!!

      Reply

  3. dayner
    Sep 29, 2009 @ 22:45:47

    I am diggin’ this story! And learning new words. How can you ever doubt your own writing ability, you’re an awesome writer. I can’t wait to see you take off during National Novel Writing Month!

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Sep 30, 2009 @ 14:53:38

      Thank you! My big concern and fear with writing a novel is that a) I get bored with the characters and b) I get bored with the story. Sticking to one story for a whole month with be a major challenge for me, for sure!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
