What the Heck is Going On?

So I’m driving home this morning from an appointment, peacefully listening to the most relaxing music I could find on the radio. I’m driving in heavy lunchtime traffic, going about 40 miles an hour on a two-lane highway, nobody behind me. Then, out of nowhere this car speeds up, and ends up just behind my car. I look in my rearview mirror and all I can tell is it’s a male with baseball cap. Oh yeah, I’m thinking, it’s a 16-year old punk with a license. Whatever, it’s a two-lane highway, so there’s nothing he or I can do about it.

Pretty soon, he’s weaving into the middle of the road, like he wants to pass me. Mind you, he’s like twenty-four inches from my bumper and there’s constant oncoming traffic, so I’m like, what on earth do you think you’re going to do? At a red light the road finally breaks into 2 lanes, and I move over so he can pass me. He doesn’t, but stays right on my tail. So I wave him on, like, dude, seriously, if you’re determined to cause an accident, pass me, because I’d prefer not be involved. He sits right between the 2 lanes, like he’s going to decide which lane to take after the light turns green.

The light turns green, I go, he speeds around and drives up alongside me. I look at him with an expression of total irritation (more for myself than him, because it’s not like he’s going to see me) and the guy is flipping me off! Not only that, but he’s not a teeanger. He’s like a 70-year man!  He passes around me again, drives right in front of me and slams on his brakes as he’s still giving me the finger. I, of course, lay on my horn, let out some explatives I won’t share here, and give him the “Christian wave,” which really is pointless because in my heart I want to totally rearend this guy.

About 30 minutes later, I go to the bank and as I am trying to pull out of the micromini exit, this old man in a see-how-my-Escalade-is-bigger-than-your-house tries to pull in. But rather than waiting for me to pull out so the car behind me can move forward in the ATM lane, he just keeps going, swearing at me through our open windows.

I mean, did someone forget to send out the social security checks? What happened to the sweet old men that made me think of my grandpa? Apparently, the older generation has not been raised on gentility. It’s not a pretty sight, people.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dayner
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 11:52:18

    My daddy always told me to watch out for drivers in hats. For some reason it clouds their brains. Also…don’t be fool, that ‘old people are sweet’ thing is an urban legend.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Sep 10, 2009 @ 19:38:20

      LOL! The ones I used to know when I was younger were sweet. I just think they’re leftovers of the ’60’s. That probably explains it.

      Next time I see a driver in my rearview wearing a hat, I think I’ll pull over!

      Reply

  2. darksculptures
    Sep 03, 2009 @ 08:49:40

    They are crazy I tell ya! All of them, they’re crazy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
