Hard to Get

I heard this song on WMBI (Chicago) yesterday morning and it moved me deeply. This song, unlike any other, speaks to my own personal struggles these last couple of years. The writer of the song honestly captures the bitterness we sometimes feel toward God for the painful things in our lives, and the confusion we meet when trying to find answers to hard questions.

It was originally written by the late Rich Mullins (a prolific and poetic Christian songwriter) and has been recorded by Phil Stacey (of American Idol fame).  To truly get the effect, listen to the song on the You Tube video.

Hard to Get
written by Rich Mullins, sung by Phil Stacey
 
Do you who live in heaven hear the prayers of those of us who live on earth?
who are afraid of being left by those we love and who get hardened by the hurt
do you remember when you lived down here where we all scrape
to find the faith to ask for daily bread
do you forget about us after you have flown away
well I’ve memorized every word you said
Still, I’m so scared I holding my breath
while you’re up there just playin’ hard to get
 
Do you who live in radiance hear the prayers of those of us who live in skin?
we have a love that’s not as patient as yours was
but still we do love now and then
Did you ever know loneliness
did you ever know need
do you remember just how long a night can get
when you are barely holding on
and your friends fall asleep and don’t see the blood
that’s running in your sweat
Will those who mourn be left uncomforted?
while you’re up there just playin’ hard to get
 
I know you bore our sorrows
and I know you feel our pain
and I know that it would not hurt any less
even if it could be explained
I know that I’m only lashing out at the One who loves me most
after I figured this somehow
all I really want to know is
 
If you who live in eternity hear the prayers of those of us who live in time?
we cannot see what’s ahead
and we cannot get free from what we’ve left behind
I’m reeling from these voices that keep screaming in my ear
all these words of shame and doubt and blame and regret
I can’t see how you’re leading me unless you’ve led me here
to where I’m lost enough to let myself be led
And so you’ve been here all along, I guess
it’s just your ways and you are just plain hard to get
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darksculptures
    Aug 27, 2009 @ 08:03:22

    Thank you so much!

    This song spoke to me in a way much needed today.

    Yesterday and before I reading your blog today, I was saddened by the fact that often I don’t feel as if my faith is strong enough. I am a constant reminder to myself, that I am not worthy of his love because I still live in the world of sin and sometimes give over to those earthly things that tempt us all. Envy is my biggest tormentor and I often am shamed by my own thoughts.

    But this song reminds me that we are not worthy of God’s love, because “we all fallen short of the glory of God.” It reminds me of the precious gift given to us when “God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten son”. It reminds me that although I fail to be perfect, I will be made perfect in the presence of His love.

    It is indeed “Hard to Get”, but He is always there, leading us, reminding us to remain humble as well as faithful.

    Thank you my friend. He has brought us together as friends for a purpose.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Aug 27, 2009 @ 14:16:24

      Kim
      I know, this song is so great (I mean I really can’t take any credit for it, I only heard it). It moved me to tears because I have felt the bitterness and abandonment that Mullins wrote about. Lately, even. I love honesty in all things, even when the truth is not pretty.

      Thanks so much for your friendship! It’s pretty cool, huh?

      Reply

  2. followerofjesus1
    Aug 26, 2009 @ 16:35:34

    This is one of my favorite songs written by one of my favorite song writers. Rich Mullins could truly capture an idea and put it to song. I am glad to see current singers singing his songs.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Aug 26, 2009 @ 16:50:37

      I really love Rich Mullins’ music, too. It’s my understanding he never had a chance to record it, so I am glad that it’s been done well (at least in this acoustic version, I don’t like the album version much).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
