The Courage to Write?*

I hate everything I write. 24 hours after I write this, post, I’ll ask myself, “why on earth did I say that?” or “why did I describe it that way?” The insecurity of writing plagues me, and yet, I can’t stop writing.

Sometimes I’ll write something and in my initial review, it seems brilliant, like the best thing that could ever come out of me. But sure enough, after I make it public for others to read, I can’t believe I thought of such silly garbage. It seems that in that one moment, I have the courage to write. But inside, I am really insufferably insecure about it all.

I’d better post this now, before I change my mind….

*The title of this post comes from The Courage to Write by Alan Keyes. It’s a great book about being a writer, and I clearly have alot to learn from it!
6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Burly
    Aug 26, 2009 @ 07:08:31

    What drivel! Thanks for wasting my time!

    … [a little reverse psych. for you] …

    Reply

  2. darksculptures
    Aug 25, 2009 @ 18:53:01

    Thank you for the Keyes reference. I look forward to reading this book.

    It takes a lot of courage. Unfortunately the road to Oz is lined with sour critics–I mean apples!

    Write because you love it! It has been the best courage builder I have been able to locate and it is absolutely free.

    Besides, writing is a craft and I am confident with time it gets easier. (hummm, I wonder if she is buying this.)

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Aug 25, 2009 @ 18:59:54

      I just had someone pour a big bucket of cold water on my head today…that’s why I’m being such a Debbie Doubter. I’ll get over it!

      Reply

      • darksculptures
        Aug 25, 2009 @ 20:51:25

        From where I sit you are a darn good writer. Just wait until you publish your first novel, the critics will be all over you then.

        Might I suggest you pick up Ann Lamott’s, “Bird by Bird” again and read a few chapters. I think it will put a smile on your face.

        Reply

        • kathanink
          Aug 26, 2009 @ 09:20:23

          You know, that’s one book I haven’t read. I should pick it up! I know she is famous for the quote about being great writing ” really crummy” first drafts. I can identify!

          Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
