Sweet Lou

P1000779It’s no secret, I love my dog.

His name is Lewis, named after the author, C.S. Lewis. He’s a deep thinker, just like the theologian and lately he’s taken to pooping in the house on a regular basis. And while he’s supposed to be graceful and fearless (he’s a Great Dane after all), he’s a big klutz and an even bigger baby. He has more health issues than any of you want to hear about. But he’s a great dog and we’re trying to enjoy all the time we have left with him.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. snoops
    Jul 13, 2009 @ 18:30:39

    I really love him..I wish I got to see him more.

    Reply

  2. darksculptures
    Jul 13, 2009 @ 16:45:20

    I love Lou too! What a handsome fellow.

    Your description of him matches is picture perfectly. I can imagine him with wearing a graduate’s cap, a pair of spectacles, and reading Sartre while lapping blackberry tea. Enjoy every moment you can. We lost our Shepherd two years ago after twelve wonderful years.

    Having a fearful (not a typo) 11 month old eighty pound Dobie boy named Ivan, and a seven year old lab mix named Sara, I know what big babies these large breeds can be. Ivan is using my left foot as a pillow while I type. Some protector he turned out to be.

    Ivan (the terrible) just returned from the vet, again, a few short hours ago. It appears that he has eaten something dead in the backyard. I won’t explain the results of his foraging on his hypersensitive digestive system. I feel your dog poop pain. Fortunately, I can expect Ivan’s tummy to feel better by day three. Yippee!

    I hope it rains soon, because the yard is drawing flies. Have you ever tried to scrape the results of a sour stomach out of grass?

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Jul 14, 2009 @ 15:01:19

      Kim
      Unfortunately…I’ve done it all! I’m not kidding when I say Lewis has had some health challenges. It’s been a rough ride for him over the years, but worth it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
