Michael Jackson and the Meaning of Life

coffinI can’t believe that I wasted a full three hours watching MJ’s memorial on TV. But I felt compelled to watch what so many others saw as important enough to air on about 20 channels.

What I discovered when I watched was quite sad. Did anyone really know this man? Most of those who spoke, eulogized him not as a person, but as a character, employee, or performer. Some of the speakers seemed to barely know Jackson, or hadn’t had contact with him in years, and I was left wondering if they presented at the service merely to advance their own agendas.

Whenever I witness a funeral that talks mainly about what a person did, and not who he or she was, it really makes me think: what would people be able to say about me at my funeral? Is there anything about me that would amount to more than, “she was organized” or “she had cute clothes?” It makes me wonder…does anyone know enough about me to say something that has any real or lasting importance?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: 7 post challenge « Kathan Ink.
  2. Trackback: One year ago today « Kathan Ink.
  3. Grey One
    Jul 14, 2009 @ 09:04:05

    I’ve always had a shadow of sorrow when talking about Michael Jackson. He was robbed of a childhood he could never really get back no matter how much he tried. A truly gifted and hollow man, he’ll be remembered for his actions, but never the person inside – aside from maybe his kids.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
