Writer’s Digest 2010 short story winner

In April WD announced the winners of the 2010 short story contest. The #1 short story was Throwing Stones by Wendi Christner.

I read it and just had to put it on my blog. It’s lyrical, moving and…well, you’ll have to read it yourself.

Writer’s Digest short story winner

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Irma
    Oct 28, 2012 @ 09:48:47

    Hey this is kind of of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG
    editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding experience so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Reply

  2. Maria
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 15:30:22

    I tried the link and either it’s been removed or I can’t get to it. I actually entered this contest, in the YA category short story category for Pink Shoelaces. I placed in the contest, quite an honor considering the quality of work. The magazine should be out this month, with the winners stories in every category, and mention all who placed. I can’t wait to read this story!

    If you want to read my short story entry Pink Shoelaces you can read it on my blog. http://romancingthewriter.blogspot.com/2010_05_01_archive.html

    I would appreciate any constructive criticism.

    Reply

  3. YoungJedi
    Nov 04, 2010 @ 11:36:46

    I really encourage everyone to read some of this authors other works! She has a God given talent to write, and she works so very hard at it too. Some of her works have put her on a short list of people, that have actually changed how I look at things in my life. May she continue to use her talent to give back to her readers.

    Reply

  4. Andrew
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 19:10:50

    “You either got to let go or throw yourself in there with her.”

    Wow! What a story!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Learning from the best and the worst « Kathan Ink.
  6. Jermaine Manley
    May 29, 2010 @ 11:57:23

    If only more people could hear about this!

    Reply

  7. dayner
    May 17, 2010 @ 23:18:53

    This is a powerful story. It almost makes me want to pack it in. I can’t imagine every being able to write like this.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  8. Darksculptures
    May 16, 2010 @ 15:25:21

    Absolutely powerful. Thank you for sharing the link.

    Reply

  9. Wendi Christner
    May 16, 2010 @ 08:57:06

    Thank you so much for posting the link to “Throwing Stones” on your blog! Sometimes Google Alerts holds the nicest surprises. I’m thrilled you enjoyed the story. It means more to me than I can express to have something I created evoke your emotions.

    All my best,
    Wendi

    Reply

    • kathanink
      May 17, 2010 @ 07:10:14

      Wendi,
      I’m honored that you stopped by. Your writing captivated me right from the start of the story and I loved the twist at the end…it’s no surprise you won the award! I’m glad I had the chance to read it.

      Reply

  10. sigramummalay
    May 15, 2010 @ 15:59:16

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

    Reply

  11. Gullible
    May 15, 2010 @ 14:32:31

    Yikes. No wonder it’s a winner. Thanks for the link.

    Reply

  12. Trackback: Short Story

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

